Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Metaplot
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Smash
This is a bit of a gripefest really. I just want to get it off my chest, no resolution required.

I've been playing in a group now for quite a few years. I love the guys and we're all really good mates.

The problem is that my GM just doesn't know how to mix it up. The first campaign went for years and while it was fun and we all liked our characters, every single run was just a clusterfuck of metaplot. They'd pretty much go like this:

1) Johnson offers you a simple sounding job
2) All leg-work leading up to the job suggests that everything is as it seems
3) When we do the job it turns out that nothing is as it seems and that the gangers/cops/corp douches involved are actually great dragons/horrors/vampires.
4) The truth is never uncovered by leg-work, it's always some Matlock moment like tripping over and seeing something under a dresser. Just the 2075 version of that....... and that only ever happens when we're past the point of no return.
5) we end up completeing the job with a comedy of errors.
6) Some douchebag who we've got no chance of killing, like Lofwyr or the corporate court turns up in the end and takes all our stuff, but then pays us after the fact.
7) Irespective of what we do, we are always on everybodies radar. They can always contact us at will, have leverage on us, etc.