Hey everyone!

I'm new to Shadowrun as an RPG, although I've had experience with other games such as WH 40K, VtM, and DnD. A friend of mine, who has had several Shadowrun campaigns, now wants to GM a game, so he asked me to create my character concept and develop a character for a campaign in New York. He hasn't told me what the campaign will entail in details, but I know he has a rather balance approach and eventually wants to include all elements of the universe. So, I went onto the official SR forums and I got some help from an experienced chummer, but I still want to hear the opinions and critiques of experiences players and GMs. So, I'm here, knowing that some of the most hardcore players are on these forums. I was wondering if you guys can critique my character concept and backstory, and then the actual stats behind the character - whether they are useful, how well the karma was used etc. I would really appreciate any kind of feedback you can offer me, as I am quite new to Shadowrun! I am using the 4th edition, karma generation system, with the core book, street magic and runner's companion. This would turn out into a wall of text, but those of you who are interested in helping out, I would be more than grateful!

Ok, here I go!

Character Name: Faelan O'Byrne [Fey-lahn]
Concept: Tír na nÓg pariah; Occult investigator, Magic Defense
Metatype: Elf (Night One Metavariant)- low-light vision, nocturnal, allergy (mild, sunlight), keen hearing, unusual hair (indigo fur)
Place of Origin: Tír na nÓg
Personality and quirks: weird, over-polite, outsider, nerdy, curious, naive, gay, "unintentional" racist, spirit sympathizer, contemplative, kinky, idealistic, stubborn, averse to cyberware and bioware, freedom-loving

Story