Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Rules Question (Please HALP!)
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Razic
Hoy chumbrowskies! Little while lurker first time poster. I'm trying to build (for lack of a better term) a Decknomancer: A decker that is such a sneaky little $#!% he might as well be the Greased Up Deaf Guy of the matrix. (Hence, a high edge and the Ninja Vanish quality for emergencies.) As such he is pretty much only going to use Hack On The Fly (HOTF) instead of brute force and will always use baby monitor. Now, here's the question. This is essentially my first decker. I usually play sammies or mages, so I'm pretty new to the matrix. What is driving me crazy is specializations. Its says under the computer skill that you can specialize by matrix action, so I want HOTF. Yet, HOTF is a "Hacking" skill action. And you can only specialize by Devices, Hosts, Files or Personas under the Hacking skill. What am I missing? frown.gif

(This is 5e by the way)
Glyph
You could always take the Codeslinger quality for it. Unfortunately, there is no rules-legal way to get a specialization for it, despite the fact that the decker archetype has it (the archetypes are riddled with errors).
Tymeaus Jalynsfein
There is nothing wrong with taking "Hacking on the Fly" as a Specialization.
The listed specializations in the books are simply suggestions, they are not the sum total of specializations you could take.
Razic
Ahh... I see. Yeah... already have codeslnger for HOTF. I was hoping to stack it with a specialization. biggrin.gif As my GM says, "Strong with the munchkin, this one is..."
Razic
QUOTE (Tymeaus Jalynsfein @ Aug 29 2015, 05:51 PM) *
There is nothing wrong with taking "Hacking on the Fly" as a Specialization.
The listed specializations in the books are simply suggestions, they are not the sum total of specializations you could take.

Oh. Alrighty then! ork.gif
DrZaius
QUOTE (Razic @ Aug 29 2015, 10:41 PM) *
Oh. Alrighty then! ork.gif