Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Quick Question about Force
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
JaronK
I'm quite new to Shadowrun, especially the magic system, and I had a question. I can't seem to figure out what force does when casting... I know it effects resistance tests, but what about spells like heal that no one would be trying to resist? Is there any point in having it at a force greater than 1? Also, with invisibility, does everybody who might possibly see the invisible person get a chance to resist the spell and thereby see?

JaronK
Slamm-O
i know (or think smile.gif)for heal it is the maximum number of boxes you can heal. Many spells will tell their specific uses of force in the description. Some spells do only use it for disspelling purposes though.
RedmondLarry
Biggest use of Force is that's the target number for the opponent to resist your damaging spell, as you know.

For beneficial spells (healing, increase strength, levitate, gecko crawl, etc.) Force is in some way a limit on how beneficial the spell is. For example, with Treat and Heal, it's the maximum number of boxes that can be healed. Once you've done a successful Treat or Heal on a set of wounds, you can't do any more magical healing on those wounds.

About the only spell where Force doesn't really come into play is Increase Reflexes. The game designers didn't find a good way to make Force important for that spell. Many people that use these boards have house rules that make Force important for Increase Reflexes (a common one is that the caster needs 2 successes for each additional D6 for Increase Reflexes, up to 1/2 the force of the spell). But anyway, that's just a common house rule.