Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Some Newbie Weapon Questions
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
JaronK
For the record, I'm quite new to Shadowrun (preparing to play my first game), and only have access to the core rulebook (with errata).

I want to buy a Viper Silvergun, with some decent recoil reduction. The gun comes with a silencer, standard. Am I allowed to add a Gas-Vent system to it, or does the silencer use up that slot?

I've heard of adding a customized grip for -1 recoil... but I can't find that anywhere. Assuming it's in another book that I don't have, is it okay for me to ask here how much it costs?

The silvergun says it fires flechette rounds, and I notice it has a huge clip. Does this mean it only fires those kinds of rounds, so I can't ever use any other type? Is the large amount of ammo available in the clip because those rounds are smaller or something?

The damage code for the flechette rounds is factored into the stat line given in the rulebook. Is the concealment reduction for the built in silencer also factored in... in other words, with the silencer, do I have the written concealment of 6, or does it drop to 4? Can I remove the silencer, then, if I need more stealth?

Thanks in advance.

JaronK
RedmondLarry
You're correct. Can't get Gas Vents, because Silencer takes up the Barrel Slot.

The Personalized Grip is in another book. If your GM allows other book rules, one of the optional ones is that Strength 6 or more gives you one point of recoil compensation.

Yes, the Ares Viper Slivergun only fires Flechette ammo. The damage code in the book 9S(f) indicates the flechette/shotgun staging up of damage has already been counted in the damage code. If you fire at someone wearing armor, you only get the 9M (before burst).
I Eat Time
If it comes with a silencer integral to the gun in the listing, all the other stats apply for the silencer, including concealability, so you're gold in that respect.