Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Shadowrun 2150
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Bertramn
Hey guys.

I am thinking about some alternate rules for an advanced Shadowrun setting.
Basically I wanted to ask you guys if you have some ideas for how the power of magic and technology would progress over a hundred years.

I would assume that there would be dramatic progress in the effectiveness of Cyberware, and other technology,
but the question is how to express this rule-wise.
Simply increase that stat bonuses and reduce the Essence loss?

Similarly with Magic.
I am no expert on the lore about the magic cycles,
but I would assume that, since the Magic gradually flows back into the world,
a hundred years from now, Magicians would be more potent,
and Awakenings would be more common.
But again, how to express this rule-wise?
Make it less expensive to become Awakened on character creation?
Reduce Drain damage in general?

Do you guys have any ideas?
hermit
Eclipse Phase with metahumans and sapient critters instead of superwhales and superparrots. And more magic, maybe Warhammer style. Or at least Cthulhu-Tech-ish MagiTek.

a hundred years from now, Magicians would be more potent,

Gradually. We're talking 900 years to Earthdawn-level (10% awakened).

But again, how to express this rule-wise?

Actually, SR5 already favors the Awakened, so just go with that. Alchemy would be more advanced, and maybe Cthulhutech-like magical generators around, as well as Magic Mecha built around bound spirits fitted with a CAST. A warhammer-like Techno-Cult built around Technomancers and a change from Matrix to Noosphere (and machine spirits, aka Sprites, everywhere) might also be feasible; build on the Ethnomalian guys from ChromeFlesh. Also, enchanted cyberware, awakened bioware and maybe a mage-gene gene treatment that makes mundanes temporary aspect mages for a limited amount of time and a painful price.
Deckbeard