Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Help understanding the setting
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Sonsaku
Hello everyone
So im new at running a Shadowrun campaign and im struggling with the setting. My games are usually small scale and not world throttling/save the world kinda stuff. Im currently using Seattle as i have the book and people have told me is a vanilla shadowrun city but my players keep raising questions about the setting i cant really answer and i wanna flesh the setting for them.

For example why does the runners have to meet the johnson if the fixer is suppose to handle everything?

I get the whole "Corporations are mini countries" angle in Shadowrun, also the corporate "nationalism" that they do in things like the arcology but what about "neutral" places that dont belong to any corp? The Seattle book mention shopping malls that have stores of multiples corps there, how does that work? Do all employees are indoctrinated wageslaves?

I get the idea that for the average wageslave raise into a corp a shadowrunner/sinless is an undesirable person at best or a terrorist at worse but the fluff sells me plenty of examples of them interacting outside of work. How that works exactly? I mean, wouldn't it hurt your professional image if one hang out with member of ISIS on the weekends? If having a criminal SIN ruins your life in such a way why would any employee (aside from the high end) risk themselves hanging out with shadowrunners or even in the case of the seattle book plenty of example of SINner legal employees who do ilegal things (like, a body+ shop that does illegal cyberware).