Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: [SR5] House Rules
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Gingivitis
I have been playing Shadowrun for 20-22 years now and have experienced every edition with each of their flaws and complexities. Though I feel that 5th edition is the best so far, we all know the editing of the core rule book is appalling and a lot of the mechanics feel wonky. This is my very extensive attempt to consolidate, normalize, and simplify the mechanics of the game. In this attempt, I did not worry about the source book's fiddly-bits (like the price of commlinks or the balance of character creation or advancement). I looked only at the mechanics of PLAYING the game (the best part).

For my players, and my sanity, I have condensed the 475 page rule book into 24 pages of (what I feel are) concise, intuitive, and consistent mechanics for game play. This does not replace the setting/flavor, the character creation, the spell and gear catalogs, etc. so you still need to buy the book, but you may not need to reference it during game play.

SR5 House Rules - Notated
(Includes Initiative, Movement, Actions, Matrix Actions, Combat Resolution, Matrix Resolution, Vehicle Resolution, Combat Rules, NPCs)

SR5 House Rules Tables
(Charts for the above House Rules. There are four tabs. Be sure to look at them all.)

Also: I do not take credit for ALL of the concepts in this document, but I do take credit for painstakingly crafting and editing this document.

Let me know what you think...

[Edit] Included highlights for House Rules in blue. Other rules are simply re-stated, clarified, or interpreted.

Thanks!
Beta
I think I'll be printing that out at the first opportunity smile.gif (I've already downloaded it and skimmed through).