Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Attempting a combat decker
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
FXcalibur
I'm trying to build a combat decker character. Mind giving some feedback, especially on the decking aspect as I've had little experience with that.

http://www.freewebs.com/thomasoft/Spikehead.rtf
Eyeless Blond
Well, off the top of my head:

Spoof 9 108 54000
Sleaze 9 243 121500

You can't have programs over rating 6 at chargen, and you can't run these on an MPCP7 deck anyway. Take the cash you save on these and up your Attack program to rating 6; it's literally twice as effective that way.

As a personal preference, I tend to keep my Bod rate low (less than half MPCP; 3 in this case), and Sensors higher. Deckers generally go first in cybercombat, and two 6S attacks will kill any single IC (anything more and you want to kill the Black and jack out as soon as possible, IMO; hotdogging in a host is gonna get you fried.)

Good job with the high Masking. Run in Masking mode (Matrix p. 123) most all the time, which with you would net you (Mask10+Sleaze7)/2 = Detection Factor 9, which is more than respectable starting out. Tack on the ability to add Hacking Pool to DF at 2-to-1 (Matrix p. 26), and you can get all the way up to DF 12!

Ooh ooh, one more thing, about cyberware: find Essence room for a rating 3 Math SPU, and maybe an encephalon if you can manage it. Getting just the SPU will bump you up another 3 Hacking Pool, and it's dirt cheap compared to your other 'ware. Get rid of that horrifically Essence-expensive headware memory (and just get a cyberforarm with a DNI pocket secretary or an OMC wired in; it's cheaper and more useful, a real bargain).
FXcalibur
Thanks! I forgot about the program ratings. I only checked proggie availability in SR3. Lessee, okay, the book says something about upgrading and source code needed to upgrade, but doesn't list any cost or way to start or obtain source code. What gives?