Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Maximizing Gunnery
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Malware
Hi all. I just started playing Shadowrun 4e (and am very new to the setting as well). I've read through most of the rule books and read through guides on here and other sites. I created a technomancer as my first character and am having fun playing it currently, but I'm working on a backup character just in case. I found this character online and used that as a starting point for the concept. I want to build a cybered adept orc rigger that specializes in gunnery for drone weapons.

The main question that I'm encountering is what options exist to get bonuses to the gunnery skill. The following is a list of things that I have found that I think should, but I wanted to check to make sure these were correct or if there are things that I've overlooked in the rules that would also assist. I searched for something like this but was unable to find anything. Thanks in advance!

Gunnery Skill
6 ranks in gunnery
6 command (matrix program)
1 aptitude (gunnery)
2 codeslinger (control device)
2 improved ability (gunnery)
1 reflex recorder (skill) (gunnery)
2 specialization (ballistic)
possible 2 from control rig?
Mantis
Not sure I'd bother with Aptitude since it costs so much karma/BP for just a single bonus point. The rest looks fine and for our games at least, we allow the control rig to aid in gunnery. You need to be jumped into the vehicle first of course.
Jaid
hot sim +2 smile.gif

(you can also potentially get better than rating 6 matrix programs, though of course you need the hardware to run it).
Mantis
Jaid, are you suggesting he gets WAR!? Why would you do that? nyahnyah.gif
But yeah Hot Sim is good for another +2. With a liberal GM you could also argue for smartlinks to work too. Just put it on the camera on the drone as well as the weapon it is firing.
Modular Man
You're on the right track here. Impressive setup there.