Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: A Couple of Questions
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
danzig138
I've been playing SR since the beginning and running it for a few years off and on, and only just the other game sessions did a couple of questions come to me.
1. Contacts. Characters are supposed to use their contacts for, among other things, information collection, right? Got a question about the computer system at the Aztech Tac facility? Call your decker contact. What if the character in question is a decker? How do you determine what he would know? In many adventures, character can attempt to ask any street type contact for info, say about an enemy street sam. What would the party street sams know about the guy, and which skill would you use to determine this? I've seen some where it says anyone who's been running in Seattle for x years will have heard of the target, but how much of the available information do they know?

2. Spirits. I was reading up on foci for Bottled Demon, and under Power Focus, it says as well as for determing the maximum spirit force that can be summoned. So I reread about spirits, and I didn't see anything about a maximum force. I always figured that you could shoot for whatever Force spirit you wanted, you just had to take into account the drain and Charisma and such. Is this incorrect?

3. Skillsofts. I basically understand why you need skillwires to run softs like Pistols 5, Athletics 3, etc, but it doesn't make sense to me that you'd need wires to run Computer 4, or Winged Aircraft B/R 5. Certain active skills that require wires seem to me like they should be perfectly usable without wires, so why do you need the wires?