Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Hints for a new GM
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Axe
Hell everyone, my friends and I decided to try Shadowrun recently and I offered to GM. This is my first time GMing shadowrun and I've only played a few games with 3rd edition (I used to play 2nd Ed. but that was a while ago). I have a couple of questions:

Firstly, since most of the people in the group haven't played SR before I figure I should start them off slow, I've got a couple of ideas for runs kicking around but could use some advice on fairly simple runs that give a good idea of how things work in Seattle in the 2060's before sending them on something big.

Second, how much should I reward the player? For example, one run I was thinking of sending them on was to hijack a small weapons shipment en route for their fixer. For this job I was going to pay them 30% of the cost of all the weapons they deliver him (plus maybe a bonus from negotiations, as per the 'finding a fence' rules) plus a bonus (also to advance a plot involving the triads). Does this sound reasonable? Also how much karma should I give out for a run?

Third, is there anywhere that I can get a good map of the Seattle of Shadowrun (preferably free)?

Thanks in advance biggrin.gif
JaronK
I found food fight didn't work nearly as well as I wanted it to, but Infected Greetings, which can be found online (I believe as part of a TSS) was a great starting run. There's plenty of insurance to keep the runners from getting killed (you can remove the training wheels down the road), the story is straight forward enough to not be confusing, but there's also enough flexibility to let the runners be creative.

I believe standard stolen goods pricing is 10% cost. I gave my runners 3-5 Karma each for the first run, and 5.000Y, with the potential to find significantly more if they were creative (paydata on the mainframe). That seemed to work well enough.

JaronK
GunnerJ