Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New player
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Ideki
Hello. I'm new to Shadowrun and don't have a whole lot on it (I just have the core rulebook). I will be beginning a game with a group that plays using 2nd Edition Shadowrun, and as such I need to know what changes I should expect. I have a fairly firm grasp of the 3rd Edition rules (I'm still fuzzy on the Matrix and some of the stuff on magic), and have gleaned a little bit from the Conversion section of the core rulebook, but any info on what to expect would be appreciated (especially character creation).
RedmondLarry
My gaming group resisted moving from 2nd to 3rd edition, and now that we've done it we wish we'd moved to 3rd earlier. Instead of the group making you learn 2nd Edition, which will be wasted effort when they all move over to 3rd, I suggest you try harder to get them to move to 3rd.

Perhaps convince them to add the following 3 rule areas from 3rd edition to their 2nd edition campaign, and see if they like it:

The Initiative System in 3rd allows everyone to go once (in order starting with the fastest) before those with very high initiative take their 2nd and 3rd actions in the Combat Turn. 2nd Edition allows the very fast people to take multiple actions before the slow people get their first. I remember in 2nd Edition my slow magician getting her first action late in the Combat Turn, and completing her dive for cover just after the Samurai had wasted all the opponents. In 3rd Edition I'd be able to dive for cover while the bullets were still flying, or maybe even being useful.