Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Awakened plant life?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Axe
I'm still pretty new to SR and I was wondering, is there any mention of awakened plant life? If so where can I find it?
Kagetenshi
Year of the Comet has that tree the name of which I don't remember… the "eating people tree".

~J
Kanada Ten
Additionally, Guardian Vines are described in the main book (SR3) or Magic in the Shadows (MitS). They are dual-natured vines that attack astrally projecting mages and spirits.

There are also Awakened plant compounds in Man and Machine (M&M). Several books reference the Awakened plants of the Amazonian jungles, as well.
Dashifen
QUOTE (Kagetenshi)
Year of the Comet has that tree the name of which I don't remember… the "eating people tree".

~J

Sangre del Diablo == the tree that eats people smile.gif
sidartha
And doesn't die when shot.
Stupid tree. dead.gif
Dashifen
QUOTE (sidartha)
And doesn't die when shot.
Stupid tree. dead.gif

Don't forget the "it eats you part." I think that's what makes it really special in the tree-world wink.gif Most trees don't die when you shoot them, trees being pretty durable in the long run. 'Course, I guess that depends on what you shoot them with cool.gif
Smiley
But just think about how much cash you'd get for one of them things. I don't remember exactly how much, but it's defnitely worthwhile. Just look for the pile of regurgitated bones.
Necro Tech
IIRC Predator and Prey has a couple as well as paracritters deployed as guard animals. Giant snakes and disease carrying monkeys. Fun can be had by all.
Crimsondude 2.0
Why wouldn't the tree metabolize bone?

I like the idea of a grove of Awakened lawyer vines (yes, they're real)--faster, stronger, better.
Smiley
I just assumed they didn't metabolize bone because in the picture, there's a skeleton in its clutches.
Crimsondude 2.0
Ah.

That's a pretty good reason.
Kanada Ten