Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Autofire and lethality
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Ombre
I've been playing SR since 1990 but since 2nd edition rules came out, something has been nagging me: autofire rules.
Cyberpunk games are supposed to be lethal but I think the rules for staging damage for full auto fire are very hard...

Instead of increasing Power by +1 for every bullet fired, I oopt for +1 for every 3 bullets. Which means a 6-round burst from a M22A2 has a damage code of 10D.
Considering the number of dice the average company man can throw against runners, it is still deadly, yet it allows for longer gunfights and so contributes to the cinematic atmosphere. Besides, I hate everything that leads to standardization in a RPG and so it doesn't make non-autofiring weapon useless. it still makes sense to prefer a nasty heavy handgun like a Manhunter over a SMG (9M vs 8G for a short burst)

We've been playing that way for years and my players have never felt things were easy nor have they developed any invulnerability complex (far from it in fact)
FXcalibur
9M vs. 8G

8G?
Austere Emancipator
Apparently meant 8S (7M + 1 Power + 1 DL). I don't see why that makes sense, however -- it seems to me that, ceteris paribus, 3 .40S&Ws are far, far more effective in killing a human being than 1 .44 Magnum.

Still, I'm not saying house ruling autofire is bad, I've totally house ruled autofire in my games. You do whatever works for you.
mfb
no kidding. personally, i think +1 power for every 3 rounds is way too weak--realistically, you should soak the damage for each round seperately. there's nothing magically damage-reducing about being hit by three rounds in quick succession, as opposed to being hit by them at a slight interval.
Ombre
You're right, the ideal solution would be to make separate damage resistance tests for each slug...but problem is it would be awfully time-consuming (imagine having to roll 15 times for a Vindicator full auto burst)