Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Translations?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Shev
ok, the films here seem to be fairly well made. However, I don't know what the heck they're saying, and none of my German speaking friends speak Shadowrun wink.gif

Has anyone done/can do translations for these movies?
RangerJoe
These are surreal. The begining of "Illusions" where the gamers are gatheirng to play must be just like non-gamers feel when the stumble in on a group of gamers in action-- they see books, and dice, and such, but can't understand a word of what's going on.

I also like the transtion from the "Shadowrun" book to "Real Life." Then again, that fits with my "Gamer Shaman" ethos.
Krieger
I'm downloading them now. I have 3 years of high school German experience from 2 years ago, so I'll do my best. Later.
Shev
Not to belittle you Krieger, but the people I had try to translate these were college Junior German majors, and they could only pick out a few words. It's very conversational German, and it's hard to hear in some bits because they mutter. Moreover, the terminology they use is highly shadowrunized, and I doubt you learned much of that in high school German nyahnyah.gif You're welcome to try, but I was thinking a native-speaking German SR person would have to give it a go...
Krieger
Quite.

The few words I could hear I couldn't really understand (the muttering), and the only words I managed to pick out that sounded familiar were things such as "Das" and other marginally important words. I didn't figure I could do anything toward the cause; I guess my first post wasn't sarcastic enough in the "I'll do what I can." smile.gif
Shev
Are there any native German speakers here?
Cochise
There are most definitely more than enough native speakers around wink.gif
I however do lack
  • the time provide a full translation
  • motivation to do so, since I actually found them horrible