Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Cyberware/ bioware question
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Sokei
I have been running Shadowrun on and off for 3 years now and it just dawned on me that i have no idea how to deal with the legal issues surrounding illegal cyberware or bioware. My question is does anyone have any suggestions as to how Lone star would deal with illegal cyber/bio ware (short of cutting off their arm).

I dont have my books with me at the moment but ill repost with an example in alittle bit. any help or suggestions would be great.
mfb
my assumption is that they would do some minor surgery to disable the cyberware. in the case of structural 'ware (bone lacing, etc), they might inject cutter nanites to destroy it completely.
GrinderTheTroll
I seem to remember a FASA SR adventure (maybe Harlequin?) where cyberware toting sams had to wear some sort of hand-cuff that disabled cyberware while they where worn or they required some Willpower Test to overcome them.

As a guess, I'd probably use something like that for simplicity sake.

EDIT - I am not sure how you could disable Bioware without causing some more major problems since it's grown material rather than implanted devices. Maybe some sort of medication would help diminish it's ability to function.
Sokei
so apparently today my brain isn't exactly working all that great. i was checking on the legal codes and id say 75% of the cyberware in the main book is either legal or you can "purchase" a permit for it, or its really hard to spot (like recording intstruments).

As much as id love to inject cutter nanites into a couple of my former players. Is there any other suggestions that are a little less um.... dramatic?