Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Totally new to Shadowrun... have some questions!
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
bytestorm
I'm totally new to this kind of games and i have some (stupid maybe) question and i'm wondering, how many players does it have to be? can i play alone?
how does it all work? is there a "story" to follow in the Shadowrun third edition book? or do i have to make the story by my self?

what is needed to begin playing? books, dices ect?

as you can se i have no clue about this, but my interest started when i recently played Shadowrun for Super nintendo.. then i remembered seing a book at my friends house long ago, called shadowrun.. so after a little serching i found this site.

please help me out here!

regards stefan

Stumps
how many players does it have to be?

2 players to as many as you want.
4 to 6 is the common group.

can i play alone?

You can, but it's highly suggested that you get at least one more player.

how does it all work?

In short.
Make characters.
Get missions/jobs
Roll dice
Everything works off of Target Numbers (TN). Everything has a difficulty that is rated as a TN. The average difficulty is a TN of 4.
These TN's are altered with Target Modifiers that add or subtract for the Target Number making it easier or harder to accomplish.
Skill values are the number of Dice that you roll against the TN of the task.
Same goes for Attributes.

is there a "story" to follow in the Shadowrun third edition book?

There is no story in the SR3 (Shadowrun third edition) for you to follow.
There are adventure books to buy though.
Or you can make your own and play.

what is needed to begin playing? books, dices ect?

You only need:
-The Core Rule book for Shadowrun 3rd Edition.
-About 6 to 12 6 sided Dice

It's highly recomended that you also get:
-Canon Companion
-Shadowrun Companion
-Man & Machine
-Magic In The Shadows
-State Of The Art 2063