Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie & Questions
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Big White Mint
Hi all,

I'm new to Shadowrun. I tried to get into it in the early nineties, but the rules were beyond me at the time. I've been looking for a game with a sci-fi/fantasy bent and I decided to give SR another look. Some people stressed to me how complex the rules are but I'm about half-way through the combat chapter and haven't had any problems.

I do have some questions through...

1. What's the point of open tests? I haven't read anything that leads me to believe that the game needs a different mechanic for resolving tests. What's the design logic behind them opposed to success tests?

2. On pg. 94 in the social modifiers table under the intimidation/interrogation open test heading "Agressor has street reputation" the listing is "-Karma." Shouldn't that be "+Karma."

Thanks,

Nick
JaronK
1) Not sure. They're easily replaceable with regular tests, and that's what I do. I know they're in the rigging rules a lot, which I rarely look at, but as far as sneaking, I tend to replace it with "roll your stealth skill against a TN = to opponent's intelligence, with appropriate mods. Observer rolls their intelligence against your stealth, with mods. Whoever has more successes wins."

2) Dunno on that one.

The rules of Shadowrun have become a lot clearer. Basically the only places where they're still really complicated is Decking and Rigging, and even decking's not that bad.

JaronK
GaiasWrath8
rigging on the other hand...LOL
Walknuki
QUOTE (Nick Warcholak @ Dec 15 2004, 02:29 PM)
1. What's the point of open tests?  I haven't read anything that leads me to believe that the game needs a different mechanic for resolving tests.  What's the design logic behind them opposed to success tests?