Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Welcome the shadowrun Newb
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Magic Adept
Well i'm new to shadowrun but not to roleplaying games. i've been playing D&D on and off for 5 years now and the d20 system is all i know. *listens for groans of disdain* nyahnyah.gif
Now this may seem like a seemingly stupid question but to learn shadowrun the easiest how do you approach it? is there an order you can read the chapters that makes it easier then trying out certain things to put things into practice becuase to tell the truth i'm the only one i know that plays this game in my town or anywhere near me for that matter so i guess if anyones Gming it will be me so i have to learn quickly and effectively.
So if anyone can suggest some exercises i can do after reading certain sections to help me along i'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance for any help. wink.gif
Sabosect
Read the chapters in order. In fact, use time to use the chapters to make a variety of characters. Don't be afraid to reference the book.
Jrayjoker
Read the background stories, study the timeline, and learn the physical combat system first. Integrate the more esoteric (magic, matrix, rigging) functions later. I also recommend making up a character, some opponents, and doing a dry run for yourself or with one friend for each of the areas I mentioned above before you try to run it in the game.

Add complexity only after you are comfortable with the core rules.
Arethusa
In fact, I'd advise leaving rigging and decking for last. They can be the most cumbersome and least used of all the rulesets, and I'd learn the other stuff before getting into them.

Also, if you're used to D20, you're used to well organized, accessible books. Unfortunately, you won't get that with Shadowrun, so don't be surprised if things come a bit slower. Regardless of how you feel about Shadowrun, there's really no denying that it can really be a mess some(often)times.