Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Shadowrun Primer
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Nessin
To start with, a Shadowrun game is starting up in my area, and I've got no Shadowrun experience. Zip, zilch, zero. Compounded on to that, I've got no books at the moment (of course I can use the ones the GM has when we're playing or prepping, but that doesn't help me much). Normally, either factor wouldn't be a problem, I'd take my time, learn from the others as I ago and what not. Now, the two biggest problems spring up.

1) No one in the group, sans GM, has ever played Shadowrun, hence there will be much confusion, and only one person to really help out. I'd, personally, like to be able to let the GM handle complex decisions while I can help out with simple stuff (for example, what the various attributes mean on item descriptions, how to work creating a character, such and such). Basically put less pressure on the GM so he doesn't get frustated dealing with us.

2) There is a whole lot of information to cover that isn't discussed in the books (at least from what I've read so far). For example, how many megapulses are you likely to need for basic life in your various systems? On top of that, my dumb self had to go and decide on making a rigger type character (the whole Decker/Matrix thing sounded cool, but the GM disallowed that aspect for the first game). That brings in a whole bunch of complicatioms I'm having problems with. Examples, what kind of rating should I look for for an introductory remote control deck? Creating my own drones, because the ones available to me that I've seen so far (Rigger 2, and Third Edition book) are significantly lacking in much beyond Surviellance ability. What kind of skills get the most use (especially in terms of Vehicle/Drone control)?