Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New Rigger
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
f12x
I'm brand new to shadowrun, and I'm a rigger. I'm trying to get an idea of how to make my role as "fun" as possible. What has worked for you? Any ideas will help.
Kagetenshi
1) Some people will tell you there's a difference between a Drone Rigger and a Vehicle Rigger. Don't listen to these people. Doing both greatly increases your versatility at minimal additional cost.

2) Get some small, silent drones like the spiderdrones or the Vector Kimji (stats immediately following, built using R3 Revised rules). They're good for when it's not socially acceptable or sufficiently subtle to send larger drones.

Vector Kimji

Chassis: Micro UAV (Markup .25)

Power Plant: Electric Fuel Cell

DPV: 301

Final Cost: ¥7,525

Hand. 4, Speed 50, Accel 4, Body 0, Armor 0, Sig 12, Auto 0, Pilot 1, Sensor 1, Cargo 0, Load 0, Fuel EC (9 PF), Econ .25 Km/PF

3) Your sensor range is a major asset. Use it.

4) A second datajack can be a godsend. Also, invest in a transducer (internal or external). You'll probably end up coordinating the team, as you've usually got the best view of everything.

5) Get encryption, at least Rating 3. If you've got the cred, spring for Rating 5. Don't bother with anything more until you start torquing the military.

~J
Club
From a bit earlier this month, on (Roughly) the same topic.

http://forums.dumpshock.com/index.php?showtopic=6881
waftalia
go to [initial character] and read my post on riggers it'll explain it all.
Ed Simons
QUOTE (Kagetenshi)
2) Get some small, silent drones like the spiderdrones or the Vector Kimji (stats immediately following, built using R3 Revised rules). They're good for when it's not socially acceptable or sufficiently subtle to send larger drones.

Nice mini-drone.

Alternatively, use a drone that no one will notice or care about, because they expect it to be there.

QUOTE (Kagetenshi)
4) A second datajack can be a godsend.