Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Starting out with some SR fiction.
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Razorwire
Anyone got a recommendation? I've been playing SR for three years now, off and on, but would like to get a different feel for the Shadowrun universe (other than our GM). Whats a good starting point?
FlakJacket
I'd suggest try doing a search using the word novels since this can come up every so often and there are already quite a few threads out there.

But now, just to sabotage my own advice, some - but not all - of the ones I'd suggest are '2XS' by Nigel Findley, 'Burning Bright' by Tom Dowd, 'Crossroads' by Steven Kenson, 'House of the Sun' by Nigel Findley, 'Lone Wolf' Nigel Findley again. smile.gif
motorfirebox
this guy writes some good stuff. you should send him money.
Metus
FlakJacket pretty much hit it on the head. 'Burning Bright' was probably my most favorite SR novel, maybe due to it being the first one I ever read. I also liked Mel Odom's books and recommend those. It's a shame he didn't continue them.
Fygg Nuuton
tails you lose will r0><0r j00

technobabel is decently good as well
motorfirebox
there are a couple of novels that were okay reads, but annoyed me for being set in the shadowrun universe. the first was worlds without end--well-written, interesting, but i despise ED links. in its defense, i'll say that caroline spector did a fairly good job of keeping away from the Epic Battle Against Evil that most ED links become.