Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Decking/Matrix Questions
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Konphujun
Hey,

I was one of those people that hated the matrix but then I started reading the chapter on it and fell in love. In any case, I had some questions. First, How do you determine the program rating of something like an attack...or ANYTHING for that matter. Do you just choose it based on what your deck can handle with its active memory or am I missing something? Also, do you choose your icon each time you enter the matrix or is it something that comes with the deck... i.e. each deck has a different icon? Thank you for taking the time to answer my novice questions!

Peace,

Konphujun cyber.gif
FrostyNSO
I'm no expert but:

I believe the decks have a chip that holds the icon. So you look the same whenever you jack in. You can get new ones installed, but can't switch them out very easily. I could be wrong on this.

As for programs, you buy the program at whatever rating you think appropriate. That could be "what your deck can handle with its active memory" if you wanted, but you probably want to have something small enough that you could run other programs simultaneously.
Eyeless Blond
If you just have the BBB, Icons are just assumed to be whatever you want. In Matrix, however, Icon chips are (oddly enough) the same price as any other Persona chip, although apparently you get one free with your deck equal to half the MPCP's Rating. Also they don't count towards your MPCP limit. Honestly if it were me I'd just let your deckers look however they want to and not worry about Icon chips at all; I kinda thought Matrix's making it a seperate chip was kinda dumb.

As to the program rating thing, also keep in mind you can't run a program at a higher rating than your MPCP rating. Other than that, yeah, run whatever you can both load and afford to buy in the first place (or program yourself).
Pistons