Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Art Dankwalther
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Charon
Hey, I was browsing through threats 2 due to my inquiries in the black lodge thread.

I ended up reading through the Art Dankwalther file. I love that threat because I'm studying management and have just started my concentration in finance. You can see where I could find that threat a hoot.

Except when you read, the narrator tells how a think thank of financial maverick managed to augment Art's fortune.

"Though losses were accrued, I would estimate that in less than six-month's time we were able to increase our total investments into trillions." p.114 Threats 2

The initial investment is 20 billions.

Let's be generous and assume it was exactly six month and one trillion instead of trillions.

If you consider compound interest capitalized monthly : that's a 92% increase a month, for an effective annual growth of 249 900%. This assumes that every month, these maverick are able to find a few hundreds fresh investment occasion that will yield on average 92% in order to maintain the growth.

If we want it to be less than six month and trillions, like 5 months and 2 trillions for example, as hinted in the text, that would be 151% growth a month and 6 309 573% effective annual growth.

This is Shadowrun, and nothing is impossible. But this is impossible. by such a large margin that it boggles the mind. On occasion, small investment can yield a fortune (such as a mine suddenly reporting large new deposits of gold), but you can never find a trillion worth of such investment.

Oh well, players don't have to see the numbers.

PS : If some of you are familiar with financial term and think I've screwed them up, it's because I'm studying in french and haven't got all the translation down pat yet.
Lindt
This is the age of the nano second buy out, some times people get really cleaver.
Sandoval Smith