Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Disgust
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Enigma
Am I the only one who thinks that the new announcement of SR4, quite apart from the issues of how they kept it quiet and who lied to who, is a terrible step?

I feel that SR3 has just gotten to the point where it was fleshed out, it had character, it was breathing new life into a game that had stagnated at SR2. I also note that I have bought every SR3 book (as well as every SR1 and SR2 book) and I was truly looking forward to the new product line. The SOTA books were an exceptionally good (if not enormously original) idea and I was looking forward to the delayed Australian release of Shadows of Europe.

I have been playing RPGs for about ten years now, and I think I've had a go at almost all the more popular ones. In my view SR was the best in terms of intelligent thought, in terms of back story, in terms of support and simplicity in rule systems and playability.

I have to say that SR4 seems to me to be nothing more than a pathetic, money-grubbing marketing tactic. I am absolutely convinced that there was more than enough life in SR3 to run another two years at the very least. There was direction for ongoing plots, there was room for rule development and there was ample scope for development of the game world.

It may be said that SR4 is an attempt to address rule issues, however I can't agree with this either. There simply aren't enough discrepancies and problems with the rules to justify a further edition. As a GM of SR for upwards of nine years there is nothing I haven't been able to fix with a minimal GM ruling or some common sense. Almost every other game I've ever played has more rule problems that SR3 does.