Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Don't be a bitch like me.
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Look, I'm at least as dubious as any ten dudes about SR4. I started playing in 1989 with the same GM I have today - Serious Paul - and we're still using some rules from SR1, we're so bass-ackwards and reactionary. I feel your pain; you just bought all the books, you just learned all the rules, blah blah blah, my big black boot up your ass.

Well, guess what. You can stay here and bitch about it, or you can make suggestions that'll be maybe read by someone maybe in a position to do something about it, or you can do what I'm going to do: make a difference.

Write something for SR4. Playtest it. I loved Rigger 3 so much it hurt; mostly it hurt because Rigger 3 had some serious and abiding flaws. And I actually playtested that; I just didn't do so with nearly as much time and attention as it deserved. Look, this is something we all love, and if we want it to not totally suck, we're the ones who should be doing something about it.

So stop flaming a version you've never read. Stop assuming it's a money-grab. Stop complaining that you're going to hate the rules, even though you really don't know what they are. Do something. Do something that will actually make it better, instead of just making people frustrated. Contribute. I will be.
Cain
How precicely *does* one apply to be a playtester? I know I'd be all over that in a hot second if I could.
Ol' Scratch
Personally, I'm looking forward to the new game. From everything I've read this far, the vast majority of it looks like a huge improvement overall. I'm especially thrilled by the Matrix-oriented changes, and am looking forward to (but still being a bit leery due to recent work on) the magic system in particular. I'm sure there'll be things I don't like and will doubtlessly complain about 'em, but that doesn't mean I won't appreciate the effort that went into them.