Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: [MrJBlackBook] Memory and the confusion
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
amadeus
Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here, so be nice to me, treat me gentle...

So here is the problem, I am really confused about the different memory costs for cyberdecks, and other personal electronics,

I have found the Sr3 errata that says OMCs cost .5 x Mp nuyen,

and that seems to coincide with the Matrix book,

I will break it down for your ease of use:

1) Active Memory:
the parts cost: OMC @ (memory size x 2), plus 1.5 x memory size (matrix pg. 56)

i.e. if you are buying 100 Mp of active memory, the cost is for an OMC at 200 Mp, then 1.5 x Memory Size, or 100 x 2 = 200, 200 x .5 = 100, 100 + 1.5 x 100 = 250 nuyen for 100 Mp of active memory.

Installing this requires no design test, software test, or cook test, and just needs to be installed. So then why, when ordering a cyberterminal does active memory cost Mp x 7.5 nuyen. (Matrix pg. 67)

I realize you are ordering the component and that you are paying for labor and what not, but if you simplify the parts cost equation you get,
Memory Size x 2.5, (I believe my math is correct if it is wrong please tell me),
So why the huge difference between prices( my theory is that they used the old 5 nuyen per Mp rule that is in Sr3)

and considering the parts cost and the short amount of labor, what would be a more reasonable cost for ordering cyberdecks with active memory, or is the parts cost to cheap?

2) Storage Memory
parts cost: OMC at desired Mp plus .5 per Mp of memory, (Matrix pg. 60)
or has I read it, simply Memory Size,

so 100 Mp of Storage memory would cost 100 nuyen in parts.

Again, to order it it is Mp x 6 nuyen. or for our example 600 nuyen. (Matrix pg. 67)
same concerns here as for active memory...

3) Off-line storage