Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: EMF grenades.
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
SpasticTeapot
I'm no expert at the drone rigger rules, but I do know that there's rules pertaining to interference from outside sources. If a particularly ingenious PC designed a (highly illegal) device consisting of a wide-band transmitter (A small capacitor and a couple of big coils of wire) wrapped around a REALLY big capacitor, a tiny battery, and a timer. (The power capacitor would be kept "topped off" by the small battery to maintain the charge). When the timer is started, it waits 5 seconds before completing a circut between the small capacitor, the large capacitor, and the coils. As the capacior discharges (over about a quarter-second), the resulting square wave would be converted to a rough radio wave moving accross a wide set of frequencies...such as those used for drones. This would require the rigger to essentially re-start his or her network, allowing for characters using old-fashioned weapons to rip 'em to shreds. Jammer technology is nothing new; this is just a simple, cheap, and disposable application which is only useful for applications where one would want to disrupt a network for a fraction of a second.
So, what do you think?
hahnsoo
Sounds a lot like a portable version of Barrage Jamming on page 85 of Rigger 3. Remember that Drones can act autonomously, using their autopilot to continue the last given command. This would only be useful to prevent Riggers from seeing what their drones are doing and "hopping in" a drone. The Steel Lynxes will still continue to happily shoot lead at their targets.
Krazy