Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Size of Renraky Arcology Roof?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
SuperSpy
I'm finally getting down to the end of the Brainscan adventure which I've been GMing for about for a few months now. Anyway, I have part of the team up on the roof of the Arcology for their part of the final battle (inspired by a post I saw by Demonseed Elite a while back).

I wanted to map out the roof on my battlemat and break out the miniatures to make things really strategic. So my big question right now is: How big is the Arc's roof?

According to New Seattle, the Arc is over 10 blocks wide on a side and almost 1000 meters tall. With those two pieces of information, plus the angle of the Arc's sides, we should be able to do a little trig to figure it out right?

To get a better idea of how big 10 blocks in Seattle is, I went to MapQuest and mapped from "1 S Jackson St." in Seattle, WA to "1001 S Jackson St." (which, IIRC, is where the Arc sits anyway, so I thought it'd be a good indicator). According to MapQuest that's a .75 mile distance, which converts out to about 1200 meters (close enough for government work anyway).

So we know 1200 meters on a side and 960 meters tall (320 floors X 3 meters each which is almost 1000 like New Seattle says), but does anyone know the angle of the walls? Is it mentioned anywhere?

Thanks.
Clyde
Angle's not mentioned anywhere I've seen, however there's a picture in New Seattle at page 15. Looks a bit steeper than 45 degrees. Maybe 60 degrees or so. There might be a better shot in Renraku Arcology: Shutdown but I don't have that one . . .
Smiley
60 looks about right.
There's a good shot on page 11 of RA:S.
Herald of Verjigorm
If it were 60 degrees (like I thought at first too), and the other numbers were right, the roof would be almost 91.5 meters on a side.