Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Fanpro
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Dippy
Whilst I commend Fanpro for carrying on SR after FASA gave up, I am a little confused about their strategy.

I believe I am correct in assuming that they are a business, i.e. there to make money. Certainly they have gone to the expense of reprinting old SR supplements and creating some of their own. If this has been profitable, then there must be enough SR customers about.

Now I'm not a great fan of sourcebooks. I buy a few but in general I use my imagination. However I have a family and I need to work for a living so I really don't get huge amounts of time to write my own adventures. So I need to buy published adventures. I've just started running SR with my group so I've bought a few adventures from ebay. But I will need some more.

So where are Fanpro's published adventures? I can't see them.

Now I find out that Fanpro are doing SR4.

OK, so I've just started running SR3 so I'm not competent to judge the need for SR4. But what I have seen from Fanpro is that SR4 will supersede all previous material.

Doesn't this mean that Fanpro will be left with selling virtually one product? I don't get the business sense in that.

Anyway, I'm happy with SR3 for now, and there's a few things about SR4 that I don't like. Based on my current situation (I still GM 2nd edition AD&D), I may buy a SR4 rulebook sometime around 2015. Of course if Fanpro start publishing SR4 adventures I might buy sooner...
Slacker
First Run, Wake of the Comet, Survival of the Fittest, and System Failure(upcoming) are all SR3 adventure books release by FanPro. Not to mention the Shadowrun Missions you can get from them for free.
Jrayjoker
There is also a book called Missions IIRC, and Predator and Prey has scenarios. MJLBB has tables for making random runs on the fly. There are quite a few SR1 and SR2 campaign books out there too.
hermit