Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Some Concerns
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
gradek
I am new to dumpshock, but not new to Shadowrun, having played since the early 2nd edition days. My concern with 4th edition is that FanPro will use the WoTC D&D model and essentially rewrite everything with enough changes to make you have to repurchase each previous supplement. But my biggest concern is that they will take another page from the D&D marketing plan and start making more supplements that cater to players and add more and more options that players will want to incorporate into the game, essentially making it a huge mess to GM. What I like most about Shadowrun, is what I like about Cthulhu and used to like about D&D under TSR, that most supplements are for the GM and contain lots of interesting background info and not simply filled with new player skills/equipment/magic, etc.
Catsnightmare
QUOTE (gradek)
I am new to dumpshock, but not new to Shadowrun, having played since the early 2nd edition days.  My concern with 4th edition is that FanPro will use the WoTC D&D model and essentially rewrite everything with enough changes to make you have to repurchase each previous supplement.

You can feel free to be as concerned as you want. That's essentially what they're doing.

But my biggest concern is that they will take another page from the D&D marketing plan and start making more supplements that cater to players and add more and more options that players will want to incorporate into the game, essentially making it a huge mess to GM.  What I like most about Shadowrun, is what I like about Cthulhu and used to like about D&D under TSR, that most supplements are for the GM and contain lots of interesting background info and not simply filled with new player skills/equipment/magic, etc.

Can't really say about this one, yet. I think it's going to be a wait and see thing, depending on how well (or badly) SR4 (and maybe Street Magic) sells.
Charon