Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The Basics
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Diesel
Reading a few threads about standard combat loads and a need for variety in equipment, I'm now curious what people consider the basics and necessities, either for all Shadowrunners or a specific archetype.

I'm interested in your views as I'm running a group of absolute newbies, and thought I might be able to save them some pain if I got a little something for them together, and I'm sure a lot of you have a lot more experience with actual playing (sigh) than I do, so why not?

As for what I'm asking, anything from bioware or cyberware you couldn't live without, a particular spell that just begs to be taken, or even something as basic as a cellphone (not everyone thinks about these sort of things).

Thanks in advance, and I look forward to seeing what a lot of you seasoned veterans throw out.
ShadowDragon8685
If you don't have a cellphone and a pocket secretary, you are screwed.

Contacts, of course. The first time I made my character, I FORGOT the contacts. D'oh! smile.gif (Nice GM made some up for me.)

Pistols skill of QCK and an Ares Predator is about mandatory for every character. Only a brave soul, a moron, or a MARINE goes without it. If you're really anal about not taking a Predator, you can substitute a Max-Power, or a Ruger Super Warhawk. But you need that pistols QCK. Quite often, it'll be the only thing you can rely on to save your life, and if nothing else, you can put down surpression fire.
mrobviousjosh
I totally agree with the cell phone. I've had friends who got me started getting pre-paid phones. After so many minutes they were worthless so you could toss them after the run. Great for covering your trail.

Also, trauma patches!!! Even if you're the medic (actually, especially if you're the medic/healer) you should have them because they're worth every nuyen of 500.