Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Was Blind, But Now I See
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Dingus_McGee
I starte dplaying Shadowrun a few years ago at the tail-end of 2ed and considering our age, my group and I had lots of fun a consistant number of times. I've played just about every type of character except a decker. For a bunc hof kids in the middle of the South, we did our best to picture how the world was and how it operates.

Fast forward to now, where I have some basic military experience and knowledge, have lived in a large metropolitan area overseas, and have seen some stunning moments of RL history, I think when I finally get back into gaming I will have a much diffferent idea of how things are, at least in my games. As is, I'm separated from my books and a large enough population of gamers to form a group. When SR4 finally comes out, I'll let my old GM give me a straight review and if I decide to convert, I'll really only discard the BBB. Old plot, gear, and setting books still have TONS of excellent information. I plan on using them a lot to have groups "flashback" to missions that were important to the group's history.

Just a question for everyone else, how has your style of play, perception, etc changed since you originally started playing this game? I won't even ask about SR4, as I've seen thread after thread of people talking about whether to buy it or not.

I know I have a much better idea of how to run a game and play in a game, and will at least be able to mimic RL as far as it can go in a Sci-Fantasy setting. I can't wait to start playing again.
Ancient History
When I first played, it was all day-glow mohawks and street leathers, tribal fashions and big-shouldered suits. Nowadays, it's a bit more mature. Less glitz, less flash, more crime and poverty. Less humor, certainly. More of a do-it-for-yourself outlook than a stick-it-to-Mr.-Man attitude.
Sabosect