IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recoil Question, is it done differently?
Signal
post Mar 25 2006, 06:52 AM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 21-October 04
Member No.: 6,778



Quick question to make sure I am understanding the 4th Ed rules correctly:

Let's say I have an SMG with a Gas Vent II (2 points of recoil compensation) installed, and it's my turn to shoot at a ganger.

The first simple action of my turn will be a three-round burst, which would subtract 2 from the dice pool but the gas vent prevents that from happening. So I get to roll all of my dice to see whether or not I hit the ganger.

My second simple action will be another three-round burst, which would now subtract 3 from the dice pool, but the gas vent II reduces it to only 1 die being subtracted from the pool when I roll to see if I hit the ganger.

Am I correct?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Aaron
post Mar 25 2006, 08:37 AM
Post #2


Mr. Johnson
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,148
Joined: 27-February 06
From: UCAS
Member No.: 8,314



Nope.

The recoil compensation applies over the entire phase, not each shot. So your two points of recoil comp handle the first two points of recoil in the first burst, but not the next three in the second.

First burst: (2 rounds past the first this phase - 2 recoil comp = ) 0 recoil modifier
Second burst: (5 rounds past the first this phase - 2 recoil comp = ) 3 recoil modifier

It's broken down a bit more on the second page of this pdf, if that helps at all.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nick012000
post Mar 25 2006, 08:51 AM
Post #3


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,283
Joined: 17-May 05
Member No.: 7,398



Which is why you put a Gas Vent III on your SMG and use the retractable stock. ;)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rotbart van Dain...
post Mar 25 2006, 10:58 AM
Post #4


Hoppelhäschen 5000
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,807
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 5,951



QUOTE (Signal)
Am I correct?

Yes you are - see here.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Aaron
post Mar 25 2006, 03:14 PM
Post #5


Mr. Johnson
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,148
Joined: 27-February 06
From: UCAS
Member No.: 8,314



Hrm.

You know how Rob said that recoil comp applies to both shots? That's not how it comes out on p. 143; it states that the opposite is true, and the errata doesn't alter it (just fixes some math).

Hrm.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Signal
post Mar 25 2006, 03:41 PM
Post #6


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 21-October 04
Member No.: 6,778



Here's to hoping they clarify things in the next errata.

I'm beginning to dislike this book more and more, which is a shame because I've loved the actual game itself for quite some time now and I still do.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 8th November 2025 - 10:41 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.