Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Recoil Question
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Signal
Quick question to make sure I am understanding the 4th Ed rules correctly:

Let's say I have an SMG with a Gas Vent II (2 points of recoil compensation) installed, and it's my turn to shoot at a ganger.

The first simple action of my turn will be a three-round burst, which would subtract 2 from the dice pool but the gas vent prevents that from happening. So I get to roll all of my dice to see whether or not I hit the ganger.

My second simple action will be another three-round burst, which would now subtract 3 from the dice pool, but the gas vent II reduces it to only 1 die being subtracted from the pool when I roll to see if I hit the ganger.

Am I correct?
Aaron
Nope.

The recoil compensation applies over the entire phase, not each shot. So your two points of recoil comp handle the first two points of recoil in the first burst, but not the next three in the second.

First burst: (2 rounds past the first this phase - 2 recoil comp = ) 0 recoil modifier
Second burst: (5 rounds past the first this phase - 2 recoil comp = ) 3 recoil modifier

It's broken down a bit more on the second page of this pdf, if that helps at all.
nick012000
Which is why you put a Gas Vent III on your SMG and use the retractable stock. wink.gif
Rotbart van Dainig
QUOTE (Signal)
Am I correct?

Yes you are - see here.
Aaron
Hrm.

You know how Rob said that recoil comp applies to both shots? That's not how it comes out on p. 143; it states that the opposite is true, and the errata doesn't alter it (just fixes some math).

Hrm.
Signal
Here's to hoping they clarify things in the next errata.

I'm beginning to dislike this book more and more, which is a shame because I've loved the actual game itself for quite some time now and I still do.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Dumpshock Forums © 2001-2012