Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: SR3 Weapons / Body Armor Ideas
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Scorpion
This is my first Attempt at bringing these ideas i had the last days to text, so try to bear with me if it looks a little chaotic smile.gif

Since SR4 came out i liked the idea of attaching a AP value to SR3 weapons. I also wanted Body Armor to be able to effecctively stop more Bullets from penetrating while introducing the concpt of blunt trauma.
Here is what i've got so far:

Body Armor is divided into Soft (Vests, Jackets,..., assume current stats for now, i'd like to keep the scaling the way it is) and Hard (carring Plates) Armor.
Assumptions:
Soft Body Armor will likely stop Handgun bullets and some of the weaker Rifle cartridges (hey, its the future ) from penetrating into the body but will cause a considerable blunt trauma, from higher powered rounds (Stun & Physical).
Hard Body Armor has a much higher chance of stopping higher powered rifle round and causes less blunt-trauma.

Weapons/Calibers get a Damage Code (standard SR3) and an Armor Piercing (AP – like SR4) Value.

Example Calibers

Handgun Calibers:
Caliber | AP | Damage Code | JHP Mods
9x19mm Para | -1 | 4M | 0/6M
.45 ACP | -1 | 5M | 0/7M
.40 S&W | -2 | 6M | 0/8M
10x35mm (Fictional - Ares Predator) | -2 | 7M | 0/9M
.44 Magnum | -2 | 7M | 0/9M
.50AE | -2 | 6S | 0/8S
5.7x28mm | -5 | 3M | -1/5M

Rifle Calibers
5.56x45mm | -6 | 5M |
7.62x39 Soviet | -4 | 6M |
7.62x51mm NATO | -5 | 6S |
7.62x54mm Russian | -5 | 6S |
.50 BMG | -10? | 10T |

Different Weapon designs and Barrel Lenghts can modify AP and Damage by a small ammount. For example 10" Heavy Pistols might get -1 AP / +1PN JHP, Rifle sats are for Carbine size Weapons.

Body Armor
Soft Armor – if
Ballisic Armor + AP <= 0 then the Armor is penetrated -> Full Damage Code + Successes must be soaked.