Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Increase (Attribute) Spell overpowered?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
blalien
I'm a complete Shadowrun newbie, and I'm going to be starting a 4ed campaign for a bunch of other Shadowrun newbies later this month. I've been reading the rulebook cover to cover, and there's one thing that I don't quite get. (actually a lot of things, but anyway...) It seems like a very simple matter for a mage with the Increase (Attribute) spell to boost all eight attributes for each character permanently, with the only obstacle being the drain damage. Am I missing something here, or is this just a really easy way for a mage to make friends?
Squinky
Every sustained spell incurs a dice penalty (2?) kinda like wound modifiers. You can get a focus to sustain them for you, but you are limited to how many focuses you can have by logic(?) or one of the mental attributes.

I think maybe spirits can sustain a spell for you too, but it would be pretty hard to boost them all, and on multiple characters. Another thing, is they don't work with cyber augmentations and some other magic augmentations, so the sammy with Muscle toner will get no benefit from an agility spell....
blalien
Oh... I made the mistake of assuming that any sustained spell could be made permanent. Then again, am I right in saying that with the Quickening metamagic ability and a lot of spare karma, you could indeed pull this off?
nick012000
If you had lots of spare Karma, yes.

But that's Karma you could spend on other things, like increasing your Magic, initiating, learning new spells, bonding foci, etc. Magicians are Karma hogs.
Sphynx
Squinky, Improved Attribute CAN be stacked with cyber augmentation in the new edition. Your Force just has to be higher than the 'augmented' attribute now. So, casting Improved Agility on an Elf with Muscle Toners of 4 on a base 8 Agility requires a grade 6 initiate to cast it at Force 12 without taking 10P Drain.