Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Rigging / Drones
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
DgrenJ
I am fairly new to Rigging in general, and definitely new to SR4.

I am trying to find some quick and dirty answers as to the basics of using drones.

Some Questions I have...

1.) I know the amount of drones a Rigger can have going at once, is based on his commlink, but with proper programming (autosofts) could the drones that are subscribed to be doing their own thing?

For example... Could I have a doberman patrolling, a Linx walking with my group with orders to engage anything my party engages, and perhaps a Roto Drone flying above with orders to warn me of incoming people?

I really do not know how far one can go with Drones, and if multiple drones can essentially take care of themselves, and have several go at once.

2.) I read that Drones get 3 initiative passes, is this true?

3.) If a drone fires a Full Auto weapon, does it have to account for recoil like a metatype would?

Those are my basic questions, but any other suggestions/tips would be much appreciated, im not looking at figuring out complex stuff at the moment, mostly just the simple "how to" of drones and rigging.

Thanks in advance.

- DgrenJ

Aaron
QUOTE (DgrenJ)
1.) I know the amount of drones a Rigger can have going at once, is based on his commlink, but with proper programming (autosofts) could the drones that are subscribed to be doing their own thing?

This is essentially the case. The limit is the number of drones a rigger can actually be in contact with simultaneously. A drone that's off doing its own thing doesn't need to be subscribed all of the time, and so could be cut loose to allow for other connections.

Also, the rules mention that the drones can be subscribed to one another, and so a rigger could use one drone to relay commands to a set of other drones. I'm sure your GM will thank you for it.

QUOTE (DgrenJ)