Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: [Bug City] Translation issue
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Bombshell
Hello,

i'm an editor of a fan-driven translation of the Bug City Sourcebook. Now i got a problem with one sentence of which i can't get the correct meaning. I hope some native english speaker can explain it to me.

QUOTE (Bug City p. 41 1. paragraph)
The airport is the only game in this town; if you work, you work for the airport. Dwarfs repair the planes, orks and trolls take care of building maintenance and security, and the humans and elves sell tickets, serve drinks, and keep the overstimulated tourists “happy.” Exploitation figures heavily in the long list of activities they supply, but where the responsibility falls is up for grabs. Much is made locally of the apparent stereotyping of jobs and workers. Pressure groups have been trying to prove that a hiring bias exists, but the corporations deny the charges, producing their personnel files as proof of their equal-opportunity policies.

I mark the sentence bold face.

regards

Stefan

P.S.
X-Kalibur
If my German weren't so rusty I'd try and translate it directly for you. Alas, it's been about 6 years out of practice. Let me try and break it down.

In addition to the other services offered at the airport, they also are in the buisness of exploitation (things like blackmail, prostitution), but it doesn't really fall under the job of any one of the particular metahuman races there.
Shrike30
Wow... I'm a native english speaker, and that sentence doesn't really make much sense.
Beaumis