Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: A little mifft'd about the release schedule.
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
neon_samurai
Is it just me, or is anybody else wondering why release a fluff book before more important source material like Magic/Matrix/Rigger info?

Yeah RH is neat, but how many of you play riggers at the moment, when all that is detailed in the main book is Rigger Capable and Weapon Mount?

I want to make a microdrone in the shape of a tooth that, upon activation, converts to a crawler and carries a monofiliment cutter. Might come in handy if I find myself tied up somewhere.
Moon-Hawk
I think because SR4 is the first BBB to come without a setting. SR1-SR3 had the Seattle setting included, but SR4 really didn't.
I'm not saying I agree with that decision, but I think that's what they were thinking.
Butterblume
I am no expert, but it might be that the sourcebooks are written by other people than the additional rules-books.
It might also be that additional rules are playtested a bit, so it takes longer.

I might be wrong.
James McMurray
It also takes a lot less work to get a setting sourcebook out the door, at least from a game balance perspective. It doesn't really matter what's in the book unless there is new gear, spells, or other crunchy bits. You could fill the entire Sea of Japan with giant radioactive monsters without affecting game balance, but the moment you stick in a new piece of 'ware and a metamagic technique you have to go through the playetsting process.
neon_samurai
I just wish they'd get a move on. I'm dying to see the new evolution of the Rigger Black Book.
hyzmarca
QUOTE (James McMurray)