Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The Commlink
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
lorechaser
I'm still learning SR4, and I'm coming to realize more and more how damn important your comm is in this version.

People have suggested that there are certain bare minimums any runner must have on their comm - anything from encrypt to attack to ECCM.

So I'm asking the community at large for their ideas on the minimum survivable comm.

Right now, my characters tend to pick something with S/R in the 4 range (more or less depending on cash), and then get one of the high end OS - Iris or above.

It's looking like that's not nearly enough, though....
Serbitar
Standard Commlink for Runners:

6/6/6/6
Encrypt
Analyze
rating 6 agent
(analyze, trace, attack, armour, medic)
rating 6 agent
rating 6 agent

Cost:
10.000 + group hacker (which owns and has hacked every programme available)
Ophis
hmm nice set uo, but...

1) It's not legal at start up

and

2) Even if it was you'can't assume you know the hacker from the strat.

I think the question was what to start with, rather than what to aim for.

I usually go for the Novatech Navi with Iris orb, most of my tech conscious characters try to have two comms, on obvious to run on open mode which I ignore, and one running on hidden to actually use.
lorechaser
My intent was what to buy from the start, yeah. Although both starting and eventual would be handy....

The dual comm setup is so that someone scans you, finds an open comm, then starts monitoring it, finding nothing?
DireRadiant
QUOTE (lorechaser)
The dual comm setup is so that someone scans you, finds an open comm, then starts monitoring it, finding nothing?

Better to have them find what you want them to find.
lorechaser
Man. So devious. I like it. smile.gif

GrinderTheTroll
QUOTE (lorechaser)
My intent was what to buy from the start, yeah. Although both starting and eventual would be handy....