Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Fiction
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Dog
Since I'm always so quick to jump in and critique the writing of others, I figured it's only fair to post something of my own.

This is an excerpt from a short story. Kind of a noir sort of thing, I guess. The narrator is the protagonist, a guy named Edgar. Enjoy if you can. Critique if you must. But don't hurt my feelings. I'm an artist. I'm sensitive. (Edited for grammar and punctuation.)

When I finally caught up to Stripes in Union Station, it was nearing time for my rendezvous with the I.P. There wasn’t much time for tact.
I found Stripes with his pants down. Literally. Dr. Joe saw him ducking into the men’s room. When I cranked open the pay-toilet door, he was in the middle of his business.
“Hi, Stripes.”
Stripes gawked. He must’ve thought he wasn’t being followed after his little stunt on Main Street. His eyes darted around, as though the graffiti carved into the walls of the stall might provide some useful advice. Over my left shoulder, he could see Dr. Joe and his ugly little revolver.
Leroy Brown was outside, politely informing the gentlemen that they could hold it for a minute longer.
I waited a few seconds for Stripes to realize he was out of options. I didn’t want him to panic, or he’d give Dr. Joe an excuse to hurt him. And the skinny Doctor wanted to hurt him bad. When I saw his shoulders sag, I gestured for the man to get up. The automatic flusher kicked in, making Stripes jump.
“I don’t have time, Stripes. I want to know what happened to Gina.”
“Are you fucking kidding me? We lost half a million in that deal, and you’re worried about the fucking hooker?!”
I felt Dr. Joe tense up behind me, he was expecting me to react poorly, but I managed to stay cool. “I’m worried about your boss and how far he’s going to go to…”
I was doing it again.