Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Vive la Belle Republique!
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
Dog
Kind of a bombshell, according to the news. The PM basically said that Quebec is to be recognized as a "nation within a united Canada," whatever that means. Remains to be seen if this is going to result in any meaningful changes, or if it's just hot air to quiet the separatists for a while. At the very least, it makes the concept of an independent Quebec more feasible in the sixth world. But I'm no political expert. Anybody want to weigh in on this? Speculate on what it might mean for the future?
Dentris
actually, this recognition was imposed by the conservative themselves. They wanted to take the Bloc Québécois by surprise and made them vote against this motion because they included ''within an united Canada''.

The problem is, the Bloc decided to vote for the motion anyway, and now all the federal parties are divided in whether we should have done this or not...

But we must remember this is nothing but a motion...not even a law. It's as if the government has voted a motion stating that macaroni and cheese is the best meal ever...Now, it may influence future decision and laws, but in itself, the motion is worth nothing.

In the Sixth World, this motion would be even more useless because ''an united Canada'' doesn't exist anymore. Therefore the motion would be discarded as unrelevant.

(I'm from Quebec...)
Kagetenshi
Part of the reason "an united Canada" doesn't exist is because Quebec is an independent nation nyahnyah.gif

~J
Backgammon
QUOTE (Dentris)
actually, this recognition was imposed by the conservative themselves. They wanted to take the Bloc Québécois by surprise and made them vote against this motion because they included ''within an united Canada''.

The problem is, the Bloc decided to vote for the motion anyway, and now all the federal parties are divided in whether we should have done this or not...