Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Old school runs and new rules
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Vvornth
So I'm about to dive back into Shadowrun after a 10 year absence. I'm a veteran of Shadowrun 2e and I'm planning to give old campaigns such as Harlequin and Super Tuesday a spin with my new group. However I realize that these old runs might encounter real continuity problem with Shadowrun 4e unless adapted/modded. Adaptions that requires me do do alot of rescripting to a degree that it might sap my enthusiasm or even worse; take away some the magic of the adventures in their original form.

So I'm basically weighing back and forth on what edition of Shadowrun to sink my teeth into for these particular scenarios. While the coninutity is far improved with 3e I at the same time hear that edition is overly complex when it comes to magic for example, which draws me to the more streamlined rules of 4e. Or should I just forget the old adventures and find new material for 4e?

Ideas and/or advice?
Kagetenshi
Define "overly complex"?

My advice is to go with 3rd edition, but I can't give you reasons that address your concerns unless I have a clearer idea of what those are.

~J
Vvornth
Well I play RPGs to tell a story basically, I consider the rules system as a means to an end in that respect, but at the same time I want to utilize the given rules for a system as they are presented.

To me something is "overly complex" (a phrase I took from a thread in the SR4e forum of someone describing 3e magic) when it distracts from this story because players have to look up stats and special rules that are to wide to fit on their charsheets.
Wounded Ronin
I think that if you try to adopt a 2nd edition run to 4th edition you're going to have a huge headache. They aren't very compatible at all. You might as well rewrite the whole damn scenario and add "wireless" stuff.

3rd edition is the only practical option.
Kagetenshi