Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Hacking Defaults
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Cooper
I'm new to Shadowrun so I think I might be misunderstanding a bit.

If Hacking defaults to logic-1 and your logic is 8, wouldn't that mean you'd have hacking at 7? If you bought the hacking skill at 4 wouldn't you end up just lowering your chance of success on your Hacking+Exploit rolls? Heck, get a +3 bioware and Exceptional Attribute (Logic) and you can hit 10 Logic as most races. Why bother with the hacking skill at all?

If anyone could shed some light on this I'd appreciate it. I can't imagine that not buying a skill would make you better at it, but that's what I'm reading so far.
Eryk the Red
It doesn't actually work that way. You don't replace the skill with the attribute -1. If that was so, defaulting on Pistols skill would have you roll Agility + Agility -1. Instead, when defaulting hacking rolls, you default to the other rating used in the roll (the program rating). It's not explicit in the rules, and it's not exactly universally agreed upon, but that seems to be the most logical way to do it, and, I think, the way the rules intended.

Edit: Just a nitpick: Can't get Logic 10. That'd exceed the augmented attribute cap of 9.
Moon-Hawk
But Cooper still has a valid point. Someone with the Hacking group at 4 and programs at rating 4 rolls 8 dice, but if they default to their Logic of 10 they get 9 dice, so why bother?
It seems to me that most people use a house-rule or two for hacking. Some people use Logic+Skill+Program for all tests, some people keep Skill+Program and allow defaulting to Logic but enforce max hits based on skill or program, etc.
This issue has come up several times. Have you tried searching the forum and been unsuccessful?

edit: nitpick nitpick, Cooper did specify exceptional attribute. Yes, you can get 10.
Eryk the Red