Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Silencers
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Siege
Silencers

-Siege
HMHVV Hunter
Yeah, I read somewhere that a suppressed gunshot can be as loud as a dictionary being dropped onto a hardwood floor.

Admittedly, that was from the Call of Cthulhu rulebook, but still it's interesting.

Though that car door beign slammed sounds like a pretty good reduction in sound.

(BTW I am neither military nor police, so I have no firsthand knowledge of this stuff).
Dim Sum
The "clatter of the bolt" is sometimes eliminated by spec forces or spies (oo-er!) by arresting the weapon's bolt preventing its return slide. However, this is really only useful if you intend to fire single shots since the bolt must be manually released after each shot to chamber the next round.
Kagetenshi
Woo for slide locks.

~J
durthang
This also raises the question of how quiet do you really need to be? Chances are anyone close enough to hear the movement of the bolt will notice the shooter through other means as well (movement, the bullet hitting the target, etc…).
Crusher Bob
The main advantage with the slide lock is that the cycling of the bolt is a vary 'non-innocent sound' while someone just walking around isn't.
Austere Emancipator
QUOTE (Dim Sum)
The "clatter of the bolt" is sometimes eliminated by spec forces or spies (oo-er!) by arresting the weapon's bolt preventing its return slide.

SpecForces, spies and every Finnish grunt that happens to have a sound suppressor if they so wish. In many gas actuated weapons, like the RK95, you can simply shut the gas valve and don't have to lock the slide.

The bullet hitting the target won't tell you where the shooter is, the noise of the bolt or slide will. Sure people will notice that somebody shot someone, but when they can't hear any sound from the shooter's direction, they haven't got much to go by as long as the shooter is well hidden.

I'll go ahead and advertise Raygun's suppression-stuff too.