Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Astral Projection
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Zeittotschlager
I'm still a noob at Shadowrun having been on only a dozen or so missions. My question regards Astral Projection. I simply can't imagine a situation in which Projecting would EVER be a good idea...

1) Your body is vulnerable. You have to leave it somewhere safe. There aren't too many safe places during a mission.

2) There is no way to sneak. Anyone who is perceiving Astraly can see you and throw spells at you.

3) Throwing spells of your own risks physical drain.

3) Wounds to your spirit also wound your body.

So why do it? Can you guys tell me about a mission that you were on in which you made effective use of Projection?

-Z
Kagetenshi
It's best for legwork before a run. It's not that common that someone is astrally perceiving, so you can get a good look at low-security areas, and Stealth works on the Astral, I believe.

~J
Backgammon
Well, you're the first person to argue astral projection is *under* powered...

Let's see... you move nearly at the speed of light (What's that you say? A meeting in Paris? Be there in 12 seconds!)
You move thru matter (i.e. Go take a look if there's anyone in the rooms above/below/adjacent to us)
You are invisible to 99% of the world's population with no chance to resist

Yes obviously it has it's risks, but so does, well, shadowrunning. Saying there is no situation where it is useful is only forgivable because you are a n00b.
krishcane