Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Shadowslang for 2070
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
Redjack
A couple of thoughts on Shadowslang/shadow-profanity. The language we use, even in games, pervade our lives and became an integral part of our vernacular. The two primary issues with this when considering profanity are that it is considered unprofessional to use profanity in general speech and that it creates a barrier to the inclusion of teenagers. Argue as I am sure some will, it does not change the fact that mild violence is more socially acceptable than profanity. As a business professional, I would rather avoid accidental slips caused by becoming desensitized to profanity in casual vocabulary.

Also, the point of 'like it or not it is part of the Shadowrun history' is completely valid. In the end, your game is your game and my game is my game. For my game, we don't feel the need to cuss like sailors to have a good time or 'feel the genre'; Shadowslang works just fine.

QUOTE (Wesley Street @ Sep 4 2008, 08:11 AM) *
You know, after 20 years of in-game time it might be time to make up some new shadow profanity. Oh snap, you doubleplus meatbag blenders!

I agree.... anybody else?
Sir_Psycho
I would definately prefer new slang than a completely unexplained and contrived retcon in an attempt to be "edgy". What's next? Orks calling eachother niggers?

I still use old slang, because I love it as game flavour. But I might be open to new slang.
Ancient History
It has been noted that the current crop of books have a bit of a potty-mouth flavor <display_sheepish>. Its not that we don't invent new slang and terminology (wait for Feral Cities), but no-one wants to overdo it. I for one would be open to some more sufficiently clever bits of slang.
NightmareX