Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie mage/cyberware creation questions
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Gnaeus
I'm new to 4th ed, making a mage, and had some questions on how the cyberware/essence/magic interaction works at character creation.

Harold Hermetic is a new mage. He has 1 essence point of cyberware (brain booster, datajack). Therefore he has essence 5.

Does he spend 65 points for magic 6, -1 which becomes magic 5?

Or

Does he spend 55 points for magic 5, because it is his maximum?

Or

Does he spend 40 points for magic 5, because 6 was his normal maximum?

Does taking a 5 magic count as his one attribute which can be maxed at character creation?

Thanks for the help!
KCKitsune
Gnaeus, unfortunately, by most people interpretations of Rules As Written (RAW), you would have to pay 65 points for your magic 6 (5). It seems stupid to me, but that's how it's suppose to work.
pbangarth
To end up with 5 Magic after having spent an Essence on implants, Harold would have had to buy Magic 6, at a cost of 65 BP.

The 'one Attribute at max' rule applies to the regular Attributes, 4 physical and 4 mental. So Harold could do the above with his Magic and also have one of his regular Attributes at 6.

Peter
Mr. Unpronounceable
1st option, unless your game houserules it.

Yes, this means he's paying for a point he doesn't get. That's the trade-off for getting bio/cyber.

Does it count as his one maxed attribute? Probably not - it's a special attribute in that it doesn't come from the (half-total-bp max) cap as the standard attributes. Of course, the one-attribute-maxed rule is more of a don't-gimp-yourself rule, so it's still good advice.

He's probably better off just raising magic to 5 (40 bp) and letting it drop to 4, though.

Tyro